Photography Wednesday

Time for some of my favorite blog/photography hops…(who am I kidding, they are all my favorite!) πŸ™‚

This week I decided to show some of my beginning photography shots to demonstrate my growth as a photographer. Lately I have been getting some pretty negative reviews towards my photography on other external websites that I post pictures to. Most of the comments are people who are just negative, but I can’t seem to shake them. It has been leaving me feeling very uncreative and lack luster towards picking up my camera. The other night I was even telling Greg I should have never wasted money on upgrading to a 50D ( some of the comments were really nasty and people pretty much tore apart my work) So I decided to go through some of my first photos to remind myself how much I have grown, and to also remind myself that even if you have one person who hates your photo, it doesn’t mean 10 more people don’t love it. I’ll start with the third shot I ever took with a DSLR.

Splash of color

[July 16, 2007 Canon Rebel XT]

To sum up the story Greg and I were bored and decided to go to CSUF to take pictures ( I wasn’t a student yet) so I had no idea what there was to take pictures of, and I also had never even picked up a DSLR before. I ended up shooting this… completely on auto. I fell in love with photography that day, the fact that you can capture a beautiful moment and freeze it was amazing.

Then I took my camera to the zoo… Here are some of my first shots ( all still on auto)

Don't mess with dad Heres looking at you

[ May 4, 2008 Canon Rebel XT] At this point I just snap, snap,snapped, I didn’t look at composition, exposure, or any of the other nitty Gritty.

Here is a re-shoot of those last two ( both full manual)

Watching over the pride [October 8th 2008 Rebel XSI]Stalking November 10th 2010 Canon 50D

* This lion shots actually got a lot of negative reviews…. Someone even posted it was so horrible I should quit taking pictures; however, I like the image, and compared to one of my early shots it is great.

chow time

Comparing these two giraffe shots is like night and day almost.

This is one of my early disney shots.

It is kind of cool but it is also blurry, I had no idea what ISO/Shutter speed/Fstop was. I would take a picture about 10 times changing the setting until it wasn’t to bright or to dark anymore.

Round and a round
[August 2008 XT]

This second Disney shot though I shot it once. I knew exactly what setting to put it on, I knew what ISO was and I captured a nice shot in my opinion.
Rainbow Reflections

[October 2010 50D]

Some more early shots:
blending in

IMG_0084

falling over

Long Drive Home
Here are some of my more recent shots

Hanging Cross Day 1


Quarters
Tree

Morning Rose
I know that my photos are not without faults, and I need to ignore the negative comments; however, some times it can be so hard.Β  This little reminder of growth is giving me a little more confidence to pick up my camera and start on the scavenger hunt list for this week πŸ™‚

Sorry for the picture and word overload this post really was more for me to reflect back on my photography, and to remind myself that I am a good photographer and I can take great images.

Happy Wednesday, hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving tomorrow!

Only 2 more days until black Friday πŸ™‚ Is anyone camping out–we already have 3 people camping out in front of my best buy! I start work at 3am, and I am so excited!

Lovely Photo - Wordless or Not-So-Wordless Wednesday at Aspirethe long road

About Theresa Bridget

I have a pretty simple life, but simple is perfect for me.

Posted on November 24, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I think that the history of your photography was NEAT!! Are you taking classes for photography now?? Someday I would love to, but honestly i would just like a way to learn and not be criticed. If beauty is in the eye of the beholder than so is photography and all art. When i look at abstract art I think, GROSS, but others say… AHHH now that is beautiful. When some people see green other people see brown. So anyway i love your photos. I really love the second picture of the lion. Keep snapping!!!

  2. Your photography is breathtaking!

    Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Many blessings,
    Jill

  3. Constructive information is one thing but negative, nasty comments should be tossed away and forgotten. Everyone takes good and bad photos. Those who profess otherwise are lying. πŸ™‚ Anyhow –
    I enjoyed browsing your flickr and I really like your nature inspired photographs best!

  4. Those are really gorgeous pictures!!!

  5. Look at how far you’ve come – photography is such a journey!

  6. I just fell in love with that sunflower shot. Wow.

  7. I think you’ve got some fantastic photos there. I’m no professional, but I happen to think you’re quite talented.

    Please forgive me for being a little, um, snotty, but I think the person who said you are so horrible you should quit taking pictures sounds to be such a horrible person he/she should quit commenting. I agree with Charlene – constructive information is useful, but comments that are nasty just for sake of being nasty should just be disregarded. Feel sorry for the person who just exudes nastiness! Okay, I’m off my soapbox! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

