Wahoo’s Fish Tacos 5k

I am excited to announce that one more item on my 101 list
has been completed! This past Sunday I ran in my first 5k sponsored by Wahoo’s
as part of the OC marathon series. It was such an exciting feeling, being at
the starting line, running, and most importantly crossing that finish line! I
know a 5k is only 3 miles but it was a great feeling finishing a race, even if
it wasn’t the ideal time. In my defense I ran maybe once the month before the
race. With that said 35 minute and 34 second finish time isn’t all that bad.

Overall it was a fun experience. I was able to meet my goal of running most of the way, only stopping a bit on the uphill part, which ended up being very hard on my knee. I am excited to get back into running; I have always found it fun and about two years ago I was at 8:30 mile, so I hope to get back to that soon. I am so happy to have done this, because it has really motivated me to get back into shape and keep running. I was athletic all through out high school (even athlete of the year for my senior class!) and I would love to get back to that and keep it that way this time.

I can’wait for my next 5k August 7th and my first ½ marathon October 9th.
Even better is that Greg is running both with me! Check back for updates on our
training.

About Theresa Bridget

I have a pretty simple life, but simple is perfect for me.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in 101 in 1001 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

