My week in fitness-a recap

What is the most frustrating things in the world? For me it is working out really hard, eating health-balanced meals and having the scale stay the exact same!!! I am completely frustrated with how this past week went. I made I made the conscious choice to put more effort into my lifestyle change. I mean, I have been 1/2 ass working out all summer, but my diet has been anything but great and as a result I have stayed at the same weight all summer, despite training for a 1/2 marathon.

This week, even though I worked out 5 days and burnt a total of 3980 calories, whileΒ  meticulously counting calories and weighting my food, I lost absolutely nothing! Really I was set up to lose at least 2 pounds, but the scale didn’t budge in the slightest. I can’t even articulate how frustrating it is. I am not going to let it stop me from keeping up with the changes though. I actually think a bit of the problem is I didn’t quite eat enough for how much I worked out… So this week instead of 1250-1350 calories I will be okay if I reach 1450-1500 calories. I a going to keep up with the high level of activity though because, quite honestly I loved it!

So here is my weekly fitness breakdown

Saturday:

I had my scheduled long run. 9 miles. It was actually a pretty bad run, I was slow, sluggish, but I finished and moved on from it.
I burnt 900+ calories πŸ™‚ and I got my long run treat, Joe’s Italian Ice πŸ™‚ Yummmmm!

Sunday

I had a 6 mile hike with crazy hills and then kayaked for 2 hours with my friends. I bought a waterproof disposable camera so I’ll post pictures soon. We also watched the season finale of true blood–did you watch it? SOOOO Good huh?

I burnt about 1200 calories today πŸ™‚

See that monster hill!?!?! It really kills going up it.

That hill is totally worth the view though!

Monday

4 mile training run. Again a little slow, but I chocked it up to so much activity.

Burn about 400 calories today!

Tuesday

REST DAY πŸ™‚

Wednesday

2 mile tempo run and yoga with my friends πŸ™‚ 11 minute pace!

Burn about 350 calories today.

My new workout shirt! I love it :)… Even though I didn’t lose weight this week, I feel like I am toning up.

Thursday

4 mile tempo run 11 minute per mile pace! I also did one hour of yoga at 24 hour fitness. Normally 24 hour fitness has a pretty moderate yoga class, I feel it the next day but I can keep up. We had a substitute this time and she kicked it up a notch! I really felt it the next day, but I loved it.

I burn about 600 calories today

Friday

REST DAY πŸ™‚ I love me a rest day!

I played with Corgi a lot today.. so enjoy the images!

Saturday

Saturday was long run day and this week it was 10 miles. I didn’t have a specific goal going into this run, other than to do better than last week. I was hopping that I could keep a 11 minute per mile pace for at least 3 miles (like I do on my lower mile runs) but for some reason I couldn’t. I am not too sure why I felt like I was going at a good pace but when I looked at my Garmin it would read 13:xx per mile pace. It was pretty discouraging. When I feel like I’m flying by I’m actually going slow and when I feel like I’m barely chugging along I am actually keeping a 11 minute pace going. I just hope I can pick up the pace for the Long Beach 1/2 marathon. I have a month to tune things up. The 10 miler was pretty fun and the sites were great. The waves were really choppy and pretty big so that was fun to watch. I ended up seeing two people who broke their boards and watched one really good surfer do some tricks–that helped pass the time! I ended up stopping twice to walk during the run once when I ate my Sports beans (so I wouldn’t choke) and once when I caught up with Greg (he ran a different 8 mile path) I walked with him for about 1/4 of a mile before ‘running’ again. My pace was about 13:35 per mile, which isn’t horrible–for me at least, but I would like it to be in the 12:xx per mile pace by next month. I don’t know how attainable my 2:36:xx 1/2 marathon time is now, but as long as I PR I will be happy. Next week I am doing an 11 mile trail in Newport Beach, I hope a new location will help with my time.

Okay… So I know this is kind of a boring post… but it’s more to keep myself accountable. I would link to my sparkpeople nutrition intake… but I don’t know how to link it πŸ™‚

About Theresa Bridget

I have a pretty simple life, but simple is perfect for me.

Posted on September 2, 2012, in Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hear you, it can be very demotivating, but here is the solution, stay off the scales. Work at your program and it will come together, don’t worry about your weight too much, but you’ll feel the change in your clothes, they will get baggy! Good luck, and where do you kayak???

  2. Thanks for the advice, staying off the scale is one of the hardest things, but it’s got to be done!
    I kayak in Long Beach, you can check out their site at kayakrentals.net

Leave a Reply

